Traffic Tickets and Violations in Oklahoma
For some people, Oklahoma traffic tickets are an unfortunate part of life. Unless you're a perfect driver with no Oklahoma traffic violations on your driving record, odds are you've already been stopped and cited for a "strict liability" offense. This is another way of saying you did something that warrants receiving a traffic ticket for certain types of violations, like:
- Making an illegal U-turn
- Not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign
Moving vs. Non-Moving Violations
There are all kinds of ways to get a traffic ticket in Oklahoma. And, they're classified under moving and non-moving violations. The big difference: whether or not a vehicle is in motion at the time of the violation.
Types of moving violations include:
- Driving below the speed limit
- Driving through a red light
- Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI)
Types of non-moving violations include:
- Parking illegally
- Leaving a running vehicle unattended
- Driving with expired license plates
If you're ever cited for a traffic violation, know that Oklahoma traffic fines vary depending on the infraction. You could pay anywhere from $10 - $500. And, that amount could climb even higher for more serious violations and might even include jail time. The point is to drive responsibly and avoid tickets and their associated fines at all costs.
What to Do If You're Cited
Most of the time, there's no need to appear in court for a traffic citation. You can pay the fine right away, and the information on how to do so is on your citation. Pay by phone, online or in person at the Municipal Court Building. And, paying by mail is also a breeze – send in a copy of your ticket with a check or money order (include your ticket number on the back of the check / money order) or write down your credit / debit card information on the back of the ticket and mail it to the following location:
Oklahoma City Municipal Court
P.O. Box 26487
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-0487
Keep in mind – if you had valid insurance at the time your ticket was issued, take that proof of insurance to the public counter at the court. Do it within 48 hours of getting the ticket and you'll have it dismissed without charges. However, your ticket will be dismissed with charges if you do this 48 hours or more after getting your ticket, whether or not it's on or before your arraignment date.
Disputing Your Ticket
Looking to dispute your ticket? Be prepared to show up in court before your actual court date. You'll have to post bond ($35), pay your traffic fine and plead "not guilty." Negotiating with the prosecuting attorney is common. But if you cannot reach an agreement, you will go to trial where you can fight your ticket in the presence of a judge and/or jury. If you decide to go that far, hiring your own defense attorney is a good call.
Paying Your Ticket Proves You're Guilty
Once you pay your ticket, you're basically proving you're guilty for that specific traffic violation. And, your guilt comes with consequences, such as:
- Being reported to the Department of Public Safety
- Having points added to your driving record
- Paying higher insurance premiums
Clean Up Your Driving Record with an Online Course
A great way to avoid traffic violations is to avoid them entirely. That means driving safely and responsibly at all times. Do it and you'll see point reductions on your driving record with the possibility of having it cleared in due time. And, a great way to brush up on your safe-driving skills – and watch those points start falling off your driving record while lowering your car insurance premiums – is to take an Oklahoma-approved defensive driving course.