Georgia DDS Motorcycle License Guide
Georgia is a great state for motorcyclists – pretty countryside, a myriad of scenic roads, and (with the proper riding attire) the opportunity for year-round riding. But like nearly every other state, Georgia does require riders to have a motorcycle license. Getting your Georgia motorcycle license – or Class M license –is a fairly straightforward process. Here’s how it works.
Learn to Ride
Riding a motorcycle is a skill, and any experienced rider will tell you that proper education may save your life. Georgia is one of the few states that offers riders a Motorcycle Instructional Permit; it’s called the Class MP Permit. It’s not mandatory, but there are advantages to getting one. Here are the basic requirements:
- You must be at least 16 years of age.
- If you’re under 17 years of age, you must successfully complete a certified 30 hour Georgia Driver Training/Driver Education Course.
- If you’re under 17 years of age, you must successfully complete a certified Georgia Behind the Wheel Program. That’s right – you’ll need to learn how to drive a car as well as a bike!
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass the Georgia DDS Knowledge Exam.
- If you’re under 18 years of age, then a parent/guardian, responsible adult, or authorized Driver Training Instructor is required to sign the application for the driver’s license. Responsible adult only applies to emancipated applicants with court ordered documentation. The participating signatories also have the authority to request the license to be revoked at any time before the minor’s 18th birthday.
Once you have your Georgia Motorcycle Instructional Permit, you’ll be able to ride a motor-driven cycle (this includes scooters, mopeds, and minibikes) under the following conditions:
- You can ride during daylight hours only.
- No passengers allowed.
- You may not drive on limited access roadways.
- You must wear safety equipment as prescribed by law. Helmets are mandatory.
As we said above, getting your Class MP license is not mandatory – but motorcycle road test reservations are only offered to applicants who hold one. And while having a motorcycle learners permit gives you the ability to practice riding, the best (and safest) way to learn is by taking a basic motorcycle safety course. The state of Georgia offers their Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Course as a way for new riders to learn what they need to get their license.
Get Your Georgia Motorcycle License
A great benefit of taking the state’s basic motorcycle course is that students over the age of 17 who pass will earn a 90-day license waiver. This means that the Georgia DDS will waive the written and riding test portions of your Georgia motorcycle license application for 90 days following your date of graduation from the course. All you’ll have to do is the paperwork! (Nearly all insurance companies will offer discounts to motorcycle riders who complete a formal rider education program – another good reason to get the proper training.)
If you opt to not take the course, these are the requirements for a Georgia Motorcycle /Class M License:
- You must be at least 17 years of age.
- You must pass the DDS Knowledge Exam.
- You must pass the DDS Motorcycle Road Skills Test.
- You must pass a vision exam.
- If you’re under 18 years of age then a parent/guardian or responsible adult is required to sign the application for your Class M license. The participating signatories also have the authority to request that your license to be revoked at any time before your 18th birthday.
And that’s it! Remember that even though you have your motorcycle license, motorcycle riding is a sport that can take years to master. Make sure that your Georgia motorcycling experience is a safe one – always wear the proper gear, ride a motorcycle that matches your skill level, and you’ll be able to full enjoy life on two wheels.