Have you made a few mistakes behind the wheel in Florida and fallen afoul of the traffic police? If so, you may have to take the 12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course before you can get back on the road. The good news is that you can take this course online when you enroll with iDriveSafely.com. Before you sign up, here's everything you need to know about the Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course.
When Do You Need to Take the Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course?
The state of Florida requires you to take this 12-hour course if:
The court has revoked or suspended your license (for non-DUI related offenses).
You have accumulated 12 points on your license in 12 months.
You’ve received a court order requiring you to attend.
You may also need to take this course if you’ve lost your driving privileges but need a hardship license to get to work.
Am I Eligible to Take the Florida Advanced Driver Improvement Course?
In most cases, you will be eligible if you:
Have received a citation for a minor moving traffic violation.
Are a non-commercial driver.
Have been in touch with the court within 30 days of receiving a citation.
Have not completed this course within the last year.
Are an out-of-state driver and received your traffic ticket within Florida.
What’s Involved in the Advanced Driver Improvement Course in Florida?
The State of Florida requires this course to be at least 12 hours long, split into eight separate sections, and focus on relevant Florida traffic and driving laws.
There is a lot you might learn in the course. For example, you might:
Brush up on the traffic laws across the state.
Learn about highway safety.
Discover what can happen to those who drive while impaired by drugs or alcohol.
Learn some valuable information about vehicle maintenance.
Find out what to do if you encounter an emergency when on the road.
How Is the ADI Course Graded?
If you take the I Drive Safely course, as the course unfolds, you’ll face 65 quiz questions. Some of these will be multiple-choice, while others will call for a short essay. At the end of the course, you will a final exam. There will be ten separate essay questions, but don't fret, as they are opinion-based.
Are There Deadlines for the Florida ADI?
Florida courts may set their own deadlines for when you need to complete your course. However, when you sign up with I Drive Safely, we give you 730 days after registering to finish your work. Just make sure you follow the court's deadline for your course.
What Happens After the Course With I Drive Safely?
We will report the results directly to Florida's driver services. The court will then get in touch with you and may ask you to reappear or apply for reinstatement. If this is the case, you will need your proof of registration and proof of insurance, and you'll have to pay a fee. You also need to retake a vision test as well as your driving license exam.
Are There Any Other Benefits?
You may be able to uncover some additional benefits when you enroll. For example, some drivers can lower their car insurance premiums when they get their completion certificate.
“Life insurance carriers may take into account your driving record before offering you a policy rate," said Ty Stewart, CEO and president of Simple life Insure. He recommends asking your broker about this upon completion of your course to see if you can get a discount.
Enroll with I Drive Safely
Sign up for your 12-hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course with us. Our courses are Florida-state authorized, and you'll be able to complete everything online.
All you need is a computer with a good Internet connection, and you can study wherever and whenever you want. We use advanced adult education techniques so that the course is comprehensive, engaging, entertaining, and even fun.