Every state has its own laws about driving, and Florida is no different. The Sunshine State has very strict laws about how its drivers behave. In many cases, points are assessed for certain behaviors. For instance, a moving violation or speeding 15 miles per hour (or less) over the posted speed limit will get you three points on your license. Florida will suspend your license if you get 12 points in the space of 12 months, 18 in 18 months, or 24 in 36 months. One way to get around this is to take a driver improvement course.
Driver Improvement Courses in Florida
In some cases, drivers will have the option to complete a driver improvement course to eliminate any reports they would have received from their citations. Now, this only works in certain cases. In addition to qualifying for the program, a driver must take action within 30 days of receiving the ticket, pay an election fee, and take steps to inform the county court clerk that they are taking a driver improvement course.
In other cases, completing a driver improvement course is required. Examples include at-fault car crashes that caused injuries or reckless driving. Some people take driver improvement courses for other reasons. Not everyone who takes a driver improvement course in Florida has received a citation. Some people take the 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course to get a discount on their car insurance.
Florida 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course
The shortest driver improvement course that meets these requirements is the 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course, and not just any class will do. To qualify, the course you take has to be approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV). While there are classroom options available, the FHSMV has approved several online options, like I Drive Safely. This way, you do not have to devote an entire afternoon or evening to take your driver improvement class. Just log on when it is convenient for you. At the end of your course, you will be given an exam. It is also online, and you can take the test as many times as you wish.
Florida 8-Hour Traffic School
Some drivers are required to take the 8-Hour Florida Intermediate Driver Improvement Course. This class goes by different names. Some people call it the 8-Hour Defensive Driving Course (DDC) while others call it the 8-Hour ADV (Advanced). This course is required for Florida drivers who have had two citations in a 12-month period and is often required by court order. It covers reckless driving in detail and explains defensive driving techniques that drivers can use to operate their vehicles in a safer manner. This course is also available online through I Drive Safely. Like our other offerings, you can study whenever you want and retake the test as many times as you want.
Florida 12-Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course
In extreme cases, drivers may have to take the Florida 12-Hour Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) course. This usually happens because a driver’s license was suspended or revoked, and the state required the driver to take the course. Also called Traffic School, this class takes much longer to complete, but you do not have to set foot in a classroom. The FHSMV allows drivers to take this course online too. You just need to pass an online test at the end of the course.
How I Drive Safely Helps Florida Drivers
When you need to take a driver improvement course, remember I Drive Safely. We offer convenient, online courses that can help you get the driver improvement classes you need on your schedule. Plus, we offer unlimited retests and customer support seven days a week.