The cost of reinstating a suspended or revoked driver's license depends on the state you live in and why the license was suspended or revoked.
A suspension can come via the state agency that issued the license, or a court if the driver commits one or more legal offenses, such as failing to pay traffic tickets, driving without valid insurance, or failure to pay child support. Licenses can be suspended for a limited time, or they can be suspended for an indefinite period until the driver takes necessary action.
A revoked license can never be reinstated. However, it is still sometimes possible for the driver to apply for a completely new license. In this case, the driver must pay all the usual fees charged when a new license is issued, and retake the written and driving road skills tests. They may also have to pay additional fines and penalties or provide other documentation.
The Cost of Reinstating a Suspended License
Each state has its own regulations that determine the cost to reinstate a suspended or revoked driver's license. In most cases, the fees to reinstate the license are cumulative, so if you have suspensions or revocations for more than one offense, your total payment will be the sum of all of the fines added together.
In California, fees for reinstating a suspended license include:
$55 fee to reissue the license
$20 for removing a restriction on the license
$15 for adding a court restriction
$24 for drug suspensions
$100 for a Preliminary Alcohol Screening (PAS) after alcohol or drug-related driving offense (DUI or DWI)
If you have a DUI or DWI and have an Administrative Suspension, also known as an Admin Per Se (APA), you may be charged additional fees of $100 or more to lift the suspension.
In Georgia, the cost of a first offense DUI for a driver over 21 is $200. The fine for a first offense of non-proof of insurance is also $200, rising to $300 or more for subsequent offenses. Point violations in Georgia start at $200 and increase to above $400. These must be paid before a license can be reinstated.
Finding Out How Much You Owe
When a license is revoked or suspended, either the state agency issuing the license or the court will typically send a notice to the driver informing them. This will be sent to the last mailing address they have on record for that person. This "Order of Revocation Notice" or "Notice of Reinstatement Requirements" (or similarly titled letter) lists the fees and actions the person must take to have their license reinstated. It is essential to read this notice carefully and take all required steps by their due date, or additional penalties may be added.
It is also essential to notify the driver's license issuing agency in your state whenever you move, so you do not miss important notifications, including notices of suspensions and revocations. Cumulative penalties can be avoided by making sure you always receive prompt notice of issues with your license.