Frequently Asked Questions for Insurance Discount Courses in Texas
Yes! The streaming video, text-based, insurance discount, and seat belt courses have all been approved by the Texas TEA/TDLR to satisfy state requirements for ticket dismissal and insurance reductions.
To find out if you’re eligible to receive a discount for taking our Texas defensive driving course, you’ll need to contact your insurance provider. They will let you know if they offer this discount, and if so, how much of a discount you’ll receive upon completion, and when that discount will go into effect.
Your insurance discount will be good for 3 years. You can retake the course at that three year deadline to extend your insurance discount.
First, contact your insurance provider and find out if they offer a discount. After you complete your Texas insurance discount course, you’ll need to provide your certificate of completion to your insurance company; we’ll send you a copy for free via U.S. Mail, or you can use one of the expedited delivery methods listed below. You can mail, fax, email or hand-deliver the certificate of completion to your insurance company. They’ll process your course completion and apply your predetermined discount to your premium!
Our Texas online defensive driving course meets the state-required length of 6 hours. You may work through the course all in one day, or spread it out over a longer period of time.
Each course is broken down into 8 chapters that each focus on a single topic pertaining to Texas driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Each chapter contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you must score a 70% or higher to move onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times. If you fail a quiz, you will be asked to retake the chapter’s lesson material before attempting the quiz again.
There is no final exam for your Texas defensive driving course.
Nope! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on a chapter, you can take it again until you pass.
No, not for earning an insurance discount. Keep in mind, however, that your I Drive Safely account will expire 180 days after you register to take the course.
We’ll send your certificate of completion to you for free via U.S. Mail. If you need it sooner than that, we have additional options for expedited delivery via FedEx.