Frequently Asked Questions for Defensive Driving Course in Oklahoma
Yes! Our Oklahoma defensive driving course is court-approved by the individual courts throughout the state to meet all requirements for point reduction.
No, there is no age requirement. Any driver may take the course.
You need to have been referred by your court to take an Oklahoma defensive driving course, whether you have recently received a traffic ticket or not. If you receive permission, you are eligible for our online course.
Generally, you qualify if you meet the following eligibility requirements:
- You hold a valid non-commercial Oklahoma drivers license
- You have at least 2 points on your driving record
- You have NOT taken traffic school in the past 2 years
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for Oklahoma defensive driving listed on our How It Works page.
The state allows you to reduce 2 points from your record once every 2 years.
Our Oklahoma defensive driving course is not timed, though generally students take between 4-6 hours to complete the course. Your course material is broken down into 8 single-subject units, which you can complete at your own pace. Therefore, how long the course takes is up to you!
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on a single topic that pertains to Oklahoma driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, your final exam consists of 20 multiple-choice questions. You need to score an 80% or higher to pass, and you may retake the exam again if you need to.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
Once you get to your final exam, you will encounter 20 multiple-choice questions, requiring a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam again if you need another attempt to pass.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply take it again.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Oklahoma courts. While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the court may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine your court’s deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court deadlines, you MUST complete the course within 180 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.