Renewing Your Oklahoma DPS Drivers License
In most circumstances, renewing your drivers license in Oklahoma is a simple, straightforward, and relatively inexpensive procedure that can be accomplished with a single visit to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the right paperwork. However, there are some important things to know about timing, required paperwork and special circumstances, especially when it comes to late renewal or renewing your license from out of state.
Requirements for Drivers License Renewal in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, licenses are normally valid for 4 years, and they expire on the last day of the month in which they are valid. All renewals are performed by the Department of Public Safety, which will issue renewal reminders through the department website 45 days before the license expires. The requirements for renewal depend on whether the license is valid, expired or suspended, and requirements also vary if the license is lost, damaged, or stolen.
Identification must be provided and proven before your Oklahoma license renewal can happen. If you’re renewing in person, you need to bring a primary and secondary form of identification. Primary identification can consist of a birth certificate, passport or license, while a Social Security card or health insurance card can be used as secondary ID.
Out-of-State Drivers License Renewal
If you’re living out of state and need to renew your Oklahoma drivers license, this can be done by mail, but there are several things you need to know to do this properly. Out-of-state renewal can be done up to six months before the expiration date of the license. To do this, you’ll need to write a letter to the Oklahoma DPS which includes your full name, date of birth, and drivers license number. You’ll also need to include both your Oklahoma address and your out-of-state mailing address, and two forms of ID.
This information and a check for the appropriate fees should be mailed to the following address:
Department of Public Safety
Driver License Examining, Renewal by Mail
P.O. Box 11415
Oklahoma City, OK 73136.
Military Drivers License Renewal
If you’re on active duty and are stationed outside Oklahoma and need to renew your license, the license will remain valid for 60 days after your discharge date. This also applies to spouses and dependents. If your drivers license does expire, you’ll need to provide a copy of your military orders to renew it.
Lost, Stolen, Expired, and Suspended License Renewal
Lost, stolen or damaged licenses can still be renewed if eligible. Send a letter with your full name, date of birth, license number, Oklahoma or out-of-state address, two forms of identification, a self-addressed stamped envelope, and a check covering the replacement fee to the address listed above
If your license has expired, it can still be renewed if you can prove your identity and expiration occurred within the last three years. To do this, however, you must pass three tests: a vision test, a written driving test, and a driving skills test. If your license has been suspended, you must satisfy the suspension requirements to have your driving privileges reinstated. The most common causes of suspension that need to be resolved are DUI convictions, insurance law violations, and excessive driving points.
You can learn more about renewing your drivers license in Oklahoma on the Oklahoma DPS website.