Frequently Asked Questions for Online Defensive Driving in Ohio
Yes! Our Ohio defensive driving course is approved by various courts in the state of Ohio to satisfy a requirement for defensive driving or traffic school. If you’re not sure whether your court approves this course, contact them for more information.
To receive a 2-point credit on your driving record, you must meet these eligibility requirements:
- You may only have 2-11 points on your driver’s license
- You may NOT have taken a course within the last 3 years
- You may only reduce points 5 times within your lifetime
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for the Ohio defensive driving course listed on our How It Works page.
You may earn a 2-point credit every 3 years. You may only reduce points 5 times total over your lifetime.
I Drive Safely’s Ohio defensive driving course meets the state-mandated 8-hour length requirement, and is broken up into 8 single-subject chapters. You may work through those 8 hours all in one day if you choose, or you may spread them out over a longer period of time. How long it takes is completely up to you!
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on single topics that pertain to Ohio driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, you do. The final exam is 40 multiple-choice questions, and you will need to achieve a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam as many times as you need to pass.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
You will then take your final exam at the end of your course, with 40 multiple-choice questions and a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam if you do not pass on your first try. You are allowed unlimited attempts.
Quiz questions are pulled randomly from a pool of questions developed specifically for your Ohio defensive driving course. Two people may get entirely different questions for the same chapter quiz, simply because they are randomly selected. It’s the luck of the draw!
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply retake the chapter again until you do.
This course is required by Ohio law to span 8 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Ohio courts or BMV. While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the court or BMV may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine their deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court or BMV deadlines, you MUST complete the course within 180 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.