Frequently Asked Questions – Defensive Driving Course in New York
Yes! Our New York Point & Insurance Reduction Program is state-approved by the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to help you earn a 3-year 10% insurance reduction, and/or reduce up to 4 points from your driving record.
The New York DMV typically sends out a notice of eligibility if you qualify for a PIRP course.
Yes it is! Anyone in New York who completes a Point and Insurance Reduction Program automatically qualifies for a 10% reduction on your premium. You will enjoy your discount for 3 years after course completion.
In order to verify your identity, the information you will need to provide includes the following:
- Date of birth
- Client ID number (located on your drivers license)
- Credit card information for payment
Our New York defensive driving course is required by the state to meet a 6-hour length requirement. But remember – you can work through those 6 hours at whatever pace you choose, and you do not have to complete it all in one day (you can if you want to, of course). You must finish the course within 30 days of registration.
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on a single topic that pertains to New York driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
No! Once you finish the last chapter quiz, you are finished with your course, and do not have to take a final exam.
Each chapter contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. You will need to score 70% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
There is no final exam for your New York PIRP course.
You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes, so if you fail to achieve a 70% on your first try, you may simply retake the chapter again until you pass.
However, at various times throughout the course, you will be asked to authenticate your identity through either voice verification or typing a keystroke phrase. If you fail the keystroke authentication or voice authentication, you will have to begin your lessons again.
This course is required by New York law to span 6 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
The NY state DMV requires you complete your course within 30 days of registration for the purposes of point reduction or insurance discount. If you fail to complete your course within the 30-day time frame, you will not earn a point reduction or an insurance discount, and no refunds may be given.
- What if I'm taking the PIRP course for an insurance discount? Do you automatically report to my insurance company?
You will be responsible for reporting your course completion to your insurance carrier to receive the state-mandated 10% discount. We will send you a certificate of completion to submit to your insurance company.
You can take the course every 18 months; this will reduce 4 points on your driving record.
You may complete a New York PIRP course once every 3 years (36 months) to maintain your lower insurance rate.
- I have more than one person on my insurance policy. Will they all receive a discount if I take this course?
Check with your insurance company. However, typically, only one driver per vehicle may receive a discounted rate on their insurance premium.
You have two options after being issued a traffic ticket, and you must take action within 15 days of being cited. You can either:
- Plead guilty, fill out the requested information on the ticket, mark it guilty, and sign the ticket. You will then need to mail it in along with the ticket fine (or you can pay in person).
- Plead not guilty, fill out the requested information on the ticket, and sign the ticket. After you mail in your ticket, the court will mail you a letter detailing when and where your hearing will take place.
Instructions on these processes can be found on your traffic ticket.
The point system is used as a way to track how well you are driving. If you accumulate too many points in a set period of time, you will be deemed to be an irresponsible driver, and your license could be suspended or revoked. Some examples of violations and the points associated with them are:
- Speeding 1-10 MPH over the speed limit: 3 points
- Following too closely: 4 points
- Reckless driving: 5 points