|I Drive Safely » Kentucky » Sitemap » Suspended Driver License in Kentucky|
Kentucky Suspended Driver's License
While we all love the freedom that comes with having a driver's license, sometimes it's easy to forget that it's a privilege to get behind the wheel. In addition, there are very specific reasons for a Kentucky suspended driver's license.
The Kentucky point system is in place to track driving behavior and keep dangerous drivers off the road. Each traffic ticket is assessed a point value, and if you accumulate 12 points or more in a 2-year period, you can be certain your driver's license will be suspended. If you do get a ticket, you should look into having it dismissed by taking a Kentucky state traffic school.
In Kentucky, certain major traffic offenses will cause automatic Kentucky driver's license suspension. These include:
- Conviction for driving under the influence
- Driving 26 MPH or more over the speed limit
- Fleeing or attempting to evade a police officer
- Three reckless driving convictions in a 12-month period
- Driving without proper insurance
- Failing to complete court-ordered traffic school
Many other instances could cause an automatic driver's license suspension. It's important to stay informed, especially when it comes to Kentucky DUI laws. Failure to comply with a request for a chemical test, for example, will result in an automatic license suspension.
Once your license is suspended, you'll need to submit it to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet. You may not drive during the suspension period. Some drivers with a suspended license may apply for a hardship license in Kentucky. If you've received a court order allowing you to apply for a hardship license, you'll need to visit a local circuit clerk's office and pay a $5 fee. This is on top of any other Kentucky Traffic fines you'll face for your original conviction.
A hardship license will allow you to drive to and from, work, school, or some other special situations like medical appointments. If your license has been suspended for driving under the influence, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device before you're allowed to drive. In addition, you will be required to meet the minimum suspension period before you're even considered for a hardship license.
Once your suspension period is nearing completion, you'll receive information on how to reinstate your driver's license. In addition to fulfilling any additional requirements of your suspension, such as paying fees or taking a state traffic school class, you'll be required to pay a $40 reinstatement fee. This can be paid in person at the clerk's office or online at: https://dlr.ky.gov/DLR_Web/
In addition to accumulating points from minor moving violations, drivers will face Kentucky traffic fines. These can be costly and frustrating, adding another layer to your problems. If unpaid, there could be serious consequences.
Once you've fulfilled all your ticket obligations, you might want to take some time to check your Kentucky driving record. This is a valuable document and you'll want to ensure you've gotten appropriate credit for all the steps you've taken — especially if you've completed a Kentucky State Traffic School course.