Frequently Asked Questions – Online Traffic School in Tennessee
Yes! Your Tennessee traffic school course is state-approved by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security (DSHS) to satisfy requirements for ticket and point dismissal.
Ticket dismissal is granted on a case-by-case basis in Tennessee, and requirements will differ from court to court. Generally, you will be eligible if:
- You possess a valid, non-commercial Tennessee driver’s license
- Your violation is a non-criminal minor moving violation
- Your license has not been suspended or revoked
Check with your specific court before enrolling in our course. We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for the Tennessee Traffic School course listed on our How it Works page.
The Tennessee traffic school course meets the state-mandated 4-hour length requirement – you could start and finish your course all in the same day! The course is broken up into 8 chapters which you may work through at whatever pace you choose, so how long it takes is completely up to you.
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on single topics that pertain to Tennessee driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, you do. The final exam is 25 multiple-choice questions, and you will need to achieve a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam as many times as you need to pass.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
You will then take your final exam at the end of your course, with 25 multiple-choice questions and a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam if you do not pass on your first try. You are allowed unlimited attempts.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply retake the chapter again until you do.
This course is required by Tennessee law to span 4 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Tennessee courts. While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the court may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine their deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court deadlines, you MUST complete the course within 180 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.