The Alaska Drivers Permit
Is there a better place in North America to explore by car? Alaska’s roads lead to some amazing locations, from Denali National Park to the Kenai Peninsula – and soon you’ll be able to drive those roads. First, though, you’ll need to get your Alaska Instruction Permit (also known as your Learners Permit). Here’s what you’ll need to know.
Alaska Drivers Permit Requirements
When you turn 14, you’ll be eligible to get your Instruction Permit – giving you two years to learn to drive! Your Alaska learners permit is valid for two years, but may be renewed one time if needed. (If you have an instruction permit from another state, you’re required to have an Alaska instruction permit before driving in Alaska.)
Alaska Learners Permit Written Test
Getting your permit is relatively straightforward. You’ll need to take a written knowledge test, which will cover Alaska traffic laws and road signs – you can find everything you’ll need to know in the Alaska Driver’s Manual. To take the test, visit your local DMV office – and if your community doesn’t have a DMV office, visit the Alaska Rural Driver Information page for information on how you can get your permit (and Alaska drivers license).
When you go to take your test, you’ll also need to take a vision test, have a completed and signed parental consent form (Form 433), and pay the $15 fee. You’ll need to provide proper identification as well; make sure you bring each of the following:
- Proof of legal name and date of birth (Primary Document)
- Secondary document to verify the primary document
- Proof of principal residence
- Proof of your Social Security number
How the Alaska Instruction Permit Works
Once you have your Alaska learners permit, you can learn to drive. The Alaska DMV uses the Parent’s Supervised Driving Program – you’ll be learning from your parents or a legal guardian. When you’re issued your Instruction Permit, you’ll receive a printed copy of this program. To make things easier for you (and the parent or legal guardian who’ll be acting as your instructor), the Alaska DMV also offers the RoadReady app to track your driving experience. While you hold your Instruction Permit, you are only allowed to drive when a licensed parent or guardian is with you in the passenger seat.
The Next Step: Your Alaska Drivers License
The state of Alaska does not require you to take a formal driver’s education class. It does, however, require that you log 40 hours of behind the wheel training with a licensed parent or legal guardian. 10 of these 40 hours must be done in what the DMV refers to as “challenging conditions” – at night and/or in inclement weather. You’ll also need to hold your learners permit for a minimum of 6 months. To get your provisional Alaska drivers license, you’ll need to pass both a driving test and a written exam.