Virginia father handing car keys to his son
Virginia Drivers Education

Specifically for Homeschooled Students

  • Approved by the Virginia DMV
  • Online – take it anywhere there’s Internet access
  • All the info you need to get your Virginia permit
  • Multimedia teaching tools make it fun and easy
Course Details

Getting Your Virginia Learners Permit &  Drivers License

Let’s face it: getting your first Virginia drivers license is about as confusing as it is exciting. You might not be sure what to do and when. That’s why I Drive Safely created this clear, step-by-step guide to the licensing process, so you have all the information you need to go from riding shotgun to taking the wheel.

Steps to Getting Your VA Drivers License

STEP 1:

Successfully Complete Our Online Virginia Drivers Education Course

If you are under the age of 18 and are home schooled, you must provide your I Drive Safely certificate of completion when applying for your permit. A parent or guardian must also be approved by the DMV for behind-the-wheel instruction, and you will need to provide a log indicating 45 hours of behind-the-wheel training. (For more information, please download the Home-Schooled In-Car Driver Education Information sheet.)

Back to Top

STEP 2:

Get Your Virginia Learners Permit

  • To obtain a Virginia drivers permit, you must be at least 15 years and 6 months of age.
  • Written consent is required from a parent/guardian if you are under the age of 18. Your parent/guardian must also provide their drivers license number or state-issued ID card number.
  • You must have a certificate of completion from a state-approved driver education program.
  • When you apply for a learners permit, you must present:
    • Proof of legal presence (legal presence means that a person is either a U.S. citizen or is legally authorized to be in the United States)
    • Proof of Virginia residency
    • Your Social Security number (if you have been issued one)

All documents must be originals and will be subject to verification.

When you apply for a Virginia learners permit, you will also complete the application process for your drivers license and pay the fees for both the permit and license. The DMV will assign you a customer number which will be displayed on your learners permit.

You will be required to take:

  • A vision screening
  • The two-part knowledge exam
    • The knowledge exam is an important part of the process when it comes to getting your permit. The Virginia learners permit exam comes in two parts (available in English or Spanish), can be taken on a computer, and tests you on traffic laws, traffic signs, and overall technique when it comes to driving.
    • Part One consists of 10 questions. You must answer each question correctly prior to taking the 25-question Part Two exam. In order to pass Part Two, a score of at least 80% is required. Keep in mind that you can only take the exam one time in a business day.
    • If you are under the age of 18 and you fail the exam, you will have to wait 15 full days to retake it.

Once you pass your required testing, a DMV representative will take your picture and ask you to sign a signature pad. In most circumstances, your photograph and information will be processed while you wait. Your name will be called when your learners permit is ready.

Back to Top

STEP 3:

Earn Your Virginia Drivers License

To get your drivers license, you will go through most of the same steps required to get your permit. The primary difference is you will have to take a road skills (behind-the-wheel) test.

  • The minimum age to obtain a Virginia drivers license is 16 years and 3 months.
  • You must supply:
    • Proof of legal presence (legal presence means that a person is either a U.S. citizen or is legally authorized to be in the United States)
    • Proof of Virginia residency
    • Your Social Security number (if you have been issued one)

All documents must be originals and will be subject to verification. For information on current requirements and acceptable documents, refer to “Acceptable Documents for Obtaining a Driver’s License or Photo ID Card” (DMV 141).

Testing Your Road Skills

You’ll need to provide a vehicle to take the road skills test. It must have the following:

  • Valid license plates
  • A registration card
  • An official safety inspection sticker

The car must be in good working order with reliable brakes, mirrors, lights and turn signals. Plus, all your safety belts and your speedometer need to be working properly.

A representative of the DMV will administer your road skills test. Only you (the person applying) and the DMV representative can be in the vehicle during the test. The test may only be taken once per business day. If you fail the road skills test, you will need to complete approved behind-the-wheel driver training from an appropriate driver training school.

After you pass the applicable tests, you will have your photo taken and you will need to provide your signature. All first-time licenses granted to minors (individuals under the age of 18) are sent to the judge presiding over your local juvenile/domestic relations court. You will be informed by mail of the date and location that you and your parent/guardian will need to appear in order to get your actual license.

PLEASE NOTE: The DMV reserves the right to deny/suspend driving privileges for individuals under 18 years of age if:

  • A court finds the minor delinquent
  • The individual needs supervision
  • The juvenile is part of an alcohol or drug-related offense
  • The individual requires services/programs like counseling, as assigned by the court. Questions about this law may be directed to the DMV.

Back to Top