Frequently Asked Questions for Missouri’s Driver Improvement Program
Our Missouri Driver Improvement course is state-approved by the Missouri Safety Center (CMSU) to meet all requirements for point reduction.
By taking this course, eligible Missouri drivers may prevent points from being added to their driving records, and may even be able to get an insurance rate reduction! Simply contact your insurance provider to see if they offer a discount for taking a driver improvement course.
Eligibility requirements vary based upon your county of residence. All citations are initially submitted to the Fine Collection Center (FCC), regardless of where you live. Drivers in some counties are granted automatic approval by the FCC for a driver improvement course to dismiss violation points, and no other action is required; other counties require the FCC to route your citation to the court, and you will need to appear in person to request permission for point dismissal from the judge. (For a list of designated FCC counties, please visit the Missouri courts website.)
For FCC counties, you must meet the following eligibility requirements:
- You hold a valid, non-commercial Missouri drivers license
- You were NOT driving a commercial vehicle at the time of your infraction
- You have NOT taken traffic school in the past 3 years
For non-FCC counties, eligibility for point reduction is determined on an individual basis by your court, and is based upon your citation and your driving history. Generally, you will need to meet the following requirement:
You have NOT taken traffic school in the past 3 years
Please note: in non-FCC counties, permission is granted on a case-by-case basis, and is NOT mandatory.
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for Missouri driver improvement listed on our How It Works page.
- I received a ticket in Missouri, but I have an out-of-state driver's license; am I eligible to take the Missouri driver improvement program to avoid point assessment on my driving record?
In this situation, taking a Missouri driver improvement program does not guarantee that points won’t be added to your record. Typically the Missouri Department of Revenue will add the points from an out-of-state violation to your record. Contact the Missouri Department of Revenue to find out more.
No, there is no minimum age to take this Missouri driver improvement program. Any driver may take it.
Our Missouri driver improvement course meets the state-required 8-hour time length. The course material is broken down into 8 single-subject units, which you can complete at your own pace. Therefore, how long the course takes is up to you!
Per state law, you may take this course once every 3 years for point reduction.
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on a single topic that pertains to Missouri driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes. Your final exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. You need to score an 80% or higher to pass, and you may retake the exam as many times as you need to.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
Once you get to your final exam, you will encounter 50 multiple-choice questions, requiring a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam again if you need another attempt to pass. You are allowed unlimited retakes.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply retake the chapter again until you do.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Missouri courts or the FCC. While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the court or the FCC may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine their deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court or FCC deadlines, you MUST complete the course within 180 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.