Pennsylvania Car Insurance
“Proof of financial responsibility” is a concept drivers in every state must adhere to. It means that everyone who drives must have the means to cover property damage or medical bills caused to someone else in the event of an accident. The most common way to achieve this is through purchasing an auto insurance policy from a state-approved provider that will cover a predetermined amount of specific kinds of damage. There are, however, certain legal minimums drivers must meet in their coverage, and they must be able to prove their coverage at any time while driving or registering/renewing a license or vehicle.
No Fault Medical Benefits Car Insurance Coverage
Unlike many other states, Pennsylvania is a “no fault” state in regards to medical liability. This means that it doesn’t matter who is determined to be at fault in a car accident. Your auto insurance carrier is responsible for paying your medical bills. In other states, the driver who causes the accident has to pay for the bills of the other parties. The minimum legal coverage for medical bills is $5,000. There are, however, still options available in your insurance policy that will allow you to sue an at-fault driver for the pain and suffering and remaining medical bills in the event of a severe injury.
Liability Car Insurance Coverage in Pennsylvania
Even though everyone in Pennsylvania is required to carry insurance that covers their own medical bills, you still need to have a significant amount of liability insurance that will pay the other people involved in an accident with you if their insurance is not enough to cover it. This applies to both physical bodily injuries and the damage down to their vehicles or other property. To drive legally, you must carry:
- $15,000 liability insurance to cover injuries per each person involved in an accident
- $30,000 liability insurance to cover the total injuries in an accident
- $5,000 liability insurance to cover injuries per each person involved in an accident
- $5,000 liability insurance to cover property damage if you are at fault
When Do I Have to Show Proof of Having Auto Insurance?
You will be required to carry proof of your financial responsibility with you when you drive, and you must present it if you are pulled over by a police officer and are asked to present it. Proof of auto insurance can exist in a few different forms, including an insurance ID card, a copy of the declaration page of your policy, or an official signed letter from your insurance carrier. You will also need to show proof for certain administrative tasks at the DOT, such as registering a vehicle or renewing a driver’s license.
What is the Penalty for Driving without Car Insurance in Pennsylvania?
It is important to remember that driving without auto insurance is a very severe offense, and it could easily lead to the suspension of your driving privileges. At the very least, you will pay a $300 fine for a first offense, and significantly more for repeat offenses. You can even have the registration on your car suspended, rendering it unusable by anyone.
You can learn more about auto insurance on the Pennsylvania DOT website.