Getting a North Carolina Learners Permit
You may be eager to get your North Carolina drivers license, but unfortunately it’s not as simple as heading down to the DMV and applying for one. There is a process in place for teens under the age of 18, known as graduated licensing, which helps you earn your license in stages. Why? It exists so that you can prepare and feel ready to get behind the wheel alone. The first stage is the limited learner permit.
Steps to Complete
Once you turn 15 years old, you can get your drivers permit. Here’s what you need to do:
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Bring proof of identity.
- You will need two documents that prove your identity, one of which must contain your date of birth. To find out which documents are acceptable, click here.
- Bring proof of Social Security.
- Visit the North Carolina DMV website for examples of documents that you may bring. You will need 1 document as proof.
- After completing an approved drivers ed course, present both your driving eligibility certificate (or high school diploma) and your driver education certificate.
- Pass written, sign, and vision tests.
- The written test will cover traffic laws and safe driving practices.
- On the sign test, you will need to identify traffic signs by both color and shape, and be able to explain what each indicates.
- For the vision test, be sure to wear you glasses or contacts if you need them. You will be required to wear them whenever you drive.
- Complete at least 60 hours of supervised driving practice (10 of which must be at night), and provide your completed Driving Log to Advance to Level 2 Limited Provisional Driver License (Form DL-4A).
- Pay the appropriate fee with cash, money order, or personal check.
What Are the Restrictions on a North Carolina Limited Learner Permit?
This learner permit is referred to as “limited” for a reason: you do not have full driving privileges yet. The restrictions for the limited learner permit include:
- You must be accompanied by a supervising driver while driving.
- You may only drive between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. with your supervising driver for the first 6 months.
- You may not use a cell phone or any other technology associated with a cell phone while driving a motor vehicle on public vehicular areas.
Who Can Be My Supervising Driver?
In order to be your supervising driver, an individual must meet the following requirements:
- He/she must be your parent/legal guardian/grandparent/an adult approved by your parent or legal guardian.
- He/she must have been a licensed driver for at least 5 years.
- He/she must be seated next to you, the driver, at all times when supervising.
After holding your limited learner permit for 12 months, you can apply for your limited provisional license. This is the last step before you earn your full provisional license. You’re well on your way!