Nevada Salvaged Vehicles – Dealing With Salvaged Vehicles in Nevada
In the state of Nevada, there are some very specific guidelines on what to do with a car that is considered a “salvaged vehicle.”
Salvaged Vehicle: A Definition
In Nevada, a “salvaged vehicle” means that the vehicle has been declared a total loss or had “salvage” designation placed on any title issued for the vehicle. The vehicle may also have flood damage, or is considered non-repairable. Here are some examples of ways a vehicle can be deemed “salvaged,” according to the Nevada DMV website:
- Total loss – A vehicle that has been damaged to the extent that the estimated cost of repair, not including the cost associated with painting any part of the vehicle, would exceed 65 percent of the fair market value of the vehicle immediately before the damage was incurred. Vehicles with less than 65 percent damage are not considered salvage vehicles.
- Flood damaged – A vehicle that has been submerged in water to a point that the level of the water is higher than the door sill of the vehicle and the water has entered the passenger, trunk or engine compartment of the vehicle and has come into contact with the electrical system of the vehicle; or a vehicle that is part of a total loss settlement resulting from water damage.
- Non-repairable – A vehicle, other than an abandoned vehicle, that has value only as a source of parts and scrap metal, or has been designated by its owner for dismantling, or has been stripped of all body panels, doors, lights, etc., or has been burned or destroyed beyond a restorable condition.
No matter the reason for being considered a “salvage vehicle,” in the state of Nevada they all are issued a salvage title. No transfer of ownership may take place until the DMV has issued this new title. Additionally, the car may not be registered in Nevada until it has been inspected by a Nevada registered garage, Nevada licensed body shop or Nevada licensed rebuilder.
It is important to remember that a salvage vehicle may not be operated on a public street or registered in the state of Nevada until it becomes rebuilt and inspected. Only after the salvage vehicle has been repaired does it becomes a rebuilt vehicle that can then be sold and/or registered in Nevada if the proper procedures are followed.
Only the non-repairable vehicles may not be repaired or restored to an operating condition. The non-repairable salvage vehicles are issued a certificate.
Can I Rebuild a Salvaged Vehicle?
If you decide to take on the challenge of repairing or restoring a salvage vehicle, there are some steps that must be followed.
Before you begin any restoration efforts on a vehicle that is five years old or newer, it must be taken to a DMV Inspection Station for completion of the Authorization for Vehicle Restoration. This must be completed before the vehicle is restored, titled or registered. This is not necessary if the vehicle is six years or older.
As stated on the Nevada DMV website: “Garages, body shops and rebuilders must repair vehicles to the common standards published and applied in the automotive repair industry. Air bags and seat belts must be repaired to the standards set in federal law. The business must keep records of the repair including any identifying information of parts.”
When the reconstruction of the vehicle is completed, it must be inspected by a Nevada licensed auto body shop, licensed rebuilder or registered garage.
Registering a Restored Vehicle
Now that your vehicle has been repaired and inspected, you will need to take it to the DMV to be inspected. There, they will complete a certificate of inspection on the vehicle. Only after this is finished, and all other registration requirements are completed, can you register and title the vehicle. It may be sold, but only after the new title is issued.
From now on the vehicle’s title will be “branded” in the state of Nevada. This means it will state that the vehicle has been rebuilt. This branding may not be altered in any way. Trying to conceal the fact the vehicle has been rebuilt or at one time was a salvaged vehicle while selling it is a felony.