Delaware Traffic Ticket Fines & Penalties

When you see those dreaded colored lights flashing in your rear-view mirror, it can only mean one thing: a lot of money exiting your bank account. Delaware traffic tickets can get extremely costly – especially if you are convicted of extreme transgressions of the law.

So just how much can you expect to pay if you are dealt the blow of a traffic ticket? Here are all of the details concerning Delaware traffic ticket fines and penalties. Hopefully, through safe and responsible driving, you won’t ever have to experience these consequences firsthand.

Delaware Traffic Ticket Violations

In the state of Delaware, each traffic violation is scaled on a rate of severity. The more severe your crime, the more severe your punishment will be. Some of the most common traffic violations that are cited in the state of Delaware include:

  • Speeding
  • Following too closely
  • Reckless driving
  • Running a red light or a stop sign

Exact Delaware traffic ticket fines will vary by court. You will be able to find the amount that your ticket is for on the citation itself, along with your options for paying it. If you have questions about your amount or you are unable to determine exactly what you are meant to pay, you should contact the court listed on your citation for further information.

Reinstatement Fees

One set of fees that are not court- or county-dependent are those for license reinstatement after suspension or revocation. If your license is suspended, you will need to pay a fine of $25.00 in order to have it reinstated. If your license has been entirely revoked, you will need to pay a fine of $143.75. In addition to these fees, you will also be required to attend a Delaware defensive driving course, which will add to your costs.

DUI Fines & Surcharges

If you are convicted of a DUI, or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will be dealt a hefty fine, and may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car. The fines and penalties that you can expect are:

  • First offense – $230-$1,150 fine, plus up to 6 months in jail and a 12-24 month license revocation
  • Second and subsequent offenses – $575-$2,300, plus mandatory jail time of 60-180 days and a license revocation of 24-60 months

Insurance Hikes

Many people do not also take into account the rise in their insurance rates after a traffic violation. When you receive a Delaware traffic ticket, your citation is added to your driving record and reported to your insurance company. Your insurance provider uses your driving record to determine how much of a risk you are to yourself and other drivers on the road. If you are a high risk, you are more likely get into a crash and cost your insurance provider a great deal of money. Therefore, they make sure that you pay more for your premium, since the likelihood of THEM paying for YOU some time down the road is far greater.

So not only do you have to worry about Delaware speeding ticket fines, which are a one-time cost – you also have to consider the long-term drain that a single traffic ticket will have on your wallet. You could be paying for your momentary mistake for years to come.

Delaware Defensive Driving

One way to help yourself alleviate the consequences of traffic violations is to take a defensive driving course. Often this course will be mandated in order to reinstate your license, but often, you may take the course voluntarily to receive a 3-point credit to your driving record. This credit can help soften the blow of accumulated points on your driving record, and help you avoid getting to the point where your license could be in danger.