Alaska Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Whether you recently got an Alaska traffic ticket, or are wondering what happens when you do, we’ve got all the information you need. The first thing you need to know is that Alaska traffic ticket fines and penalties differ depending on where you were cited.
In addition to your Alaska speeding ticket fines (or whatever else you were cited for), there are surcharges such as court costs that you must pay. The amount you owe depends on your court, but this information should be printed on your ticket. DUIs, however, are a different matter. On top of court costs, the surcharges for an Alaska DUI include:
- Fees for jail time
- License reinstatement
- Vehicle impoundment
- Educational requirements
Alaska Traffic Ticket Penalties
Penalties for traffic tickets typically include fines and points on your driving record. Both the amount you are charged and the number of points that are added to your record depend on the violation you are convicted of. For instance, Alaska speeding ticket fines will be significantly lower than DUI-related fines.
Drivers License Suspension and Revocation
Two penalties that can result from traffic violations are an Alaska suspended drivers license and license revocation. They each involve the loss of your driving privileges, but with some minor differences.
- License suspension: Suspension is the temporary loss of your driving privileges. After a set period of time, you may apply to get your driving privileges back.
- License revocation: Revocation is typically the loss of driving privileges for a longer period. There are more requirements you must fulfill before you may drive again.
Penalties for Drivers Under 21
Alaska DUI laws are severe, and rightfully so. When it comes to alcohol-related convictions for drivers under the legal drinking age, the state of Alaska has a zero tolerance policy. If a driver under 21 is caught with any alcohol in their system when operating a motor vehicle, their license may be revoked for anywhere from 30 days to 1 year, depending on the circumstances.
Penalties for Commercial Drivers
The penalties for traffic violations are especially harsh for commercial drivers. As a commercial driver, your commercial driver’s license (CDL) will be taken away for 1 year if you commit certain Alaska traffic violations, including:
- DUI-related offenses
- Refusal to take a chemical/breath test
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Committing a felony that involves a vehicle
- Causing a fatality because you were driving negligently or committing a felony
If your commercial motor vehicle is placarded, the suspension period could be even longer depending on the situation. And your commercial driver’s license will be disqualified for life if you commit any of the above offenses a second time.
Serious Traffic Offenses for Commercial Drivers
Serious offenses will lead to the loss of driving privileges too. Examples of these offenses include:
- Driving 15 MPH or more above the speed limit
- Reckless driving
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without your CDL in your possession
- Improper lane change
The suspension periods for serious offenses are as follows:
- 2 serious offenses within 3 years: 60-day suspension
- 3 serious offenses with your commercial motor vehicle within 3 years: 120-day suspension
As a commercial driver, it is your responsibility to notify your employer within 30 days of receiving a ticket. If you were ticketed outside of Alaska, you are also required to inform the DMV.
No matter what type of driver you are, you should strive to avoid Alaska ticket fines and penalties. Though it can be tempting to break the law when it comes to things like speeding, you and other drivers are better off if you don’t. Safety should always be your number one priority when you’re behind the wheel. If you need a refresher course on driver safety, you can always take an Alaska defensive driving course.
If you have any questions, contact us here – we’re available 24 hours a day, every day of the year!