Getting an Alaska Drivers License
Like many states, Alaska has what’s often called a tiered drivers license system. Your first Alaska drivers license is a provisional license – it will come with some restrictions. We’ll get to those shortly, but first, let’s take a look at what you’ll need to do to become a licensed driver in the Last Frontier.
Alaska Drivers Training Requirements
Before you get your provisional Alaska license, you’ll need to get your Alaska learners permit. You can do this when you turn 14 – which will give you plenty of time to learn how to drive! To get your Alaska license, you need to be 16 years of age. While you have your learners permit, you’ll need to spend time behind the wheel, learning how to operate a car safely, and in accordance with Alaska traffic laws.
The state of Alaska does not require you to take a formal drivers education course. But you do need to log plenty of instructional driving time. Prior to testing for your drivers license, you will need to provide proof that you’ve completed a minimum of 40 hours of supervised behind the wheel training with a parent or legal guardian. 10 of those hours must be in challenging conditions – at night, and/or in inclement weather. (It’s a good idea to do both.)
The state of Alaska participates in the Parents Supervised Driving Program. This program provides instructional resources for your parents or guardian, to enable them to give you the best possible driving instruction. To make things easier for you (and the parent or legal guardian who’ll be acting as your instructor), the Alaska DMV also offers the RoadReady app to track your driving experience.
Alaska Drivers License Requirements
What are Alaska drivers license requirements? Before you can test for your license, you must complete the about behind-the-wheel training requirements, and you must have held your Alaska learners permit for a minimum of 6 months. When you’re ready, you can head down to your local DMV office for your road test. (If your community doesn’t have a DMV office, visit the Alaska Rural Driver Information page for information on how you can get your Alaska drivers license.) You’ll need to take a written Drug and Alcohol Awareness knowledge test; you can find everything you’ll need to know for that test in the Alaska Driver’s Manual.
When you go to take your test, you’ll also need to take a vision test, have a completed and signed Alaska drivers license application form (Form 478), and pay the $20 fee. You’ll need to provide proper identification as well; make sure you bring each of the following:
- Proof of legal name and date of birth (Primary Document)
- Secondary document to verify the primary document
- Proof of principal residence
- Proof of your Social Security number
Once you pass your road test and written exam, you’ll receive your Alaska provisional drivers license. Congrats! But be aware – there are some restrictions that you’ll need to follow. With a provisional license, you may not carry passengers under the age of 21, except siblings, unless you are accompanied by a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old. And you are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM, unless you are driving to or from work, or your driving is a work requirement.
You’ll be eligible for your unrestricted Alaska license after you’ve held your provisional license for at least 6 months, or until you turn 18. To upgrade before you turn 18, you’ll need to pay a $15 fee and present the DMV with a signed Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor form (Form 433).