Frequently Asked Questions for Defensive Driving in North Dakota
- Is this course approved?
- Are there any age restrictions on who can take a defensive driving course?
- I'm not sure if I'm eligible to take a North Dakota course. How do I find out?
- I need to dismiss a ticket in North Dakota. Will this defensive driving course help me to do that?
- How often can I take defensive driving in North Dakota?
- Can I reduce points with this course?
- How long will this course take?
- What types of things will I study?
- Do I have to take a final exam?
- What is the testing and grading policy?
- Is there any way I can fail the course?
- Why does this course have timers?
- Is there a time limit to complete this course?
- How do I earn my insurance discount?
Yes! Our North Dakota Insurance Discount and Crash Prevention course is state-approved by the North Dakota Highway Patrol (NDHP) to meet all requirements for up to 5% off your auto insurance for 2 years.
No. Any driver, regardless of age, may take the course.
The 2-year insurance discount is mandated by the state, so there are no specific eligibility requirements to meet. Simply contact your insurance company and state your intention to enroll in the course. They will inform you of your specific discount rate.
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for the North Dakota defensive driving course listed on our How It Works page.
If you are eligible to have a ticket dismissed, then taking this course can do that for you. All you have to do is provide the court with your certificate of completion as proof that you successfully completed the course.
You may take this course every two (2) years to maintain your insurance discount.
While we have been approved for insurance discount purposes, this course has not been expressly approved by the Department of Transportation for point reduction. If you have received a traffic ticket, you must contact your court or local DOT branch to request permission to enroll in our online defensive driving course. Only the individual court or the DOT may grant approval for point reduction.
The North Dakota defensive driving course meets the state-mandated 8-hour length requirement, and is broken up into 8 single-subject chapters. You may work through those 8 hours all in one day if you choose, or you may spread them out over a longer period of time. How long it takes is completely up to you!
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on single topics that pertain to North Dakota driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, you do. The final exam is 25 multiple-choice questions, and you will need to achieve a passing score of 70% or higher. You may retake the exam as many times as you need to pass.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
You will then take your final exam at the end of your course, with 25 multiple-choice questions and a passing score of 70% or higher. You may retake the exam if you do not pass on your first try. You are allowed unlimited attempts.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply retake the chapter again until you do.
This course is required by North Dakota law to span 8 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
We allow you 90 days to complete your course before your account is suspended. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 90 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.
After you complete your North Dakota course, simply take your certificate of completion to your insurance company. They will process your course completion and apply your 2-year discount to your premium!
Check with your insurance provider to determine how much you will save. For more information, please visit our How It Works page.