Frequently Asked Questions – Defensive Driving in Kansas
Yes! Our Kansas defensive driving course is state-approved by the Kansas Department of Education through AAA to help you earn a mandatory 3-year discount on your auto insurance. This course may also be approved by courts on a case-by-case basis to dismiss a traffic ticket.
- Can I take this traffic school/defensive driving course to dismiss a ticket or reduce fines in Kansas?
Yes, as long as you are eligible, you can remove a ticket or lower your fines with this course. Upon successful completion of your course, we mail your certificate of completion to you so you can take care of your ticket.
To take your course for insurance discount purposes, you don’t need to worry about eligibility requirements. The discount is state-mandated for ALL drivers who complete a Kansas driver improvement course.
For ticket dismissal, your eligibility is determined by your court based upon your particular citation, circumstances, and driving history. Typically, you will need to:
- Hold a valid non-commercial Kansas driver’s license
- Have a non-criminal or DUI-related citation
- Have no outstanding tickets on your driving history
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for your Kansas defensive driving course listed on our How It Works page.
Your discount rate will vary based upon your provider and your driving history. Contact your insurance carrier and ask for full details on how much you will save, and whether your discount will increase if you renew your reduction in 3 years.
You may take your course once every 3 years to maintain your insurance discount. The frequency for ticket dismissal is determined by your individual court.
Our Kansas defensive driving course is not timed, though generally students take between 4-6 hours to complete the course. Your course material is broken down into 8 single-subject units, which you can complete at your own pace. Therefore, how long the course takes is up to you!
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on a single topic that pertains to Kansas driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, your final exam consists of 25 multiple-choice questions. You need to score an 80% or higher to pass, and you may retake the exam as many times as you need to.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
Once you get to your final exam, you will encounter 25 multiple-choice questions, requiring a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam again if you need another attempt to pass. You are allowed unlimited attempts.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply retake them again until you do.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Kansas courts or by your insurance company. While we allow you 730 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, your court or insurance carrier may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine their deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court or insurance deadlines, you MUST complete the course within 730 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 730 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.
After you complete your Kansas defensive driving course, simply take your certificate of completion to your insurance company. They will process your course completion and apply your predetermined discount to your premium!
Check with your insurance provider to determine how much you will save. Per state law, your discount will remain in effect for 3 years. For more information, please visit our How It Works page.