Frequently Asked Questions for Defensive Driving in Delaware
Yes! Your Delaware insurance discount and aggressive driver courses are state-approved by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the Department of Insurance (DOI) to meet all requirements for insurance reduction.
We offer 3 courses to meet the needs of Delaware drivers who are simply looking to lower their insurance rates:
The Delaware defensive driving basic course – 10% auto liability insurance reduction: For drivers looking to earn the state-mandated 10% insurance discount for successful completion of a defensive driving course.
The Delaware defensive driving 3-year refresher course: For drivers who need to renew their 3-year discount, and have already taken the basic course.
The Delaware aggressive driver course: completion of this course fulfills a DMV requirement to take an aggressive driving behavior modification/attitudinal driving program course.
As the 10% insurance discount is state-mandated, there are very few eligibility requirements for the basic Insurance Reduction course. You are eligible as long as you hold a valid non-commercial Delaware drivers license, and you are not currently in a 3-year discount period.
To take the 3-year refresher course and earn the renewed 15% discount, you’ll need to have previously taken a basic insurance reduction course. You may begin the refresher course 90 days before your original insurance discount expires.
The aggressive driver course is a court-ordered driving course for those who’ve been convicted of a related moving violation. At your court hearing, you’ll receive instructions to take an aggressive driver violation course. You’ll need to contact the DMV and let them know that you intend to take the course; once you’ve done that, you can sign up for our course.
The DMV may, on a case-by-case basis, grant permission for a 3-point credit to be applied to your driving record after the successful completion of a defensive driving course. This credit is awarded at the discretion of the DMV. I Drive Safely will report your completion to the DMV within 24 hours to ensure you receive your point credit.
Once you’ve completed the course, I Drive Safely will mail you a certificate of completion. You’ll submit that certificate to your insurance carrier to receive your discount.
Yes! When you take the defensive driving 3-year refresher course, your insurance discount will increase from 10% to 15%.
The basic insurance reduction course meets the state-required length of 6 hours. The 3-year refresher course meets the time requirement of 3 hours. You may work through these courses all in one day, or spread them out over a longer period of time. So the amount of time you take to complete your course is entirely up to you!
Each course is broken down into 8 chapters that focus on a single topic pertaining to Delaware driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes, you do. All of the courses feature a 25-question multiple-choice final exam, which requires a 70% score or higher to pass. The good news is that we make it as easy as possible for you. If you don’t pass your exam on the first try, simply retake it again!
Our goal is to ensure that you’re successful. Each chapter contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you must score a 70% or higher to move onto the next chapter. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
You will then take your final exam at the end of your course. You will need to score a 70% or higher, but you may retake the exam again if you do not pass on your first try.
Nope! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you can take it again until you do.
Our courses are required by Delaware law to span 3, 6, or 8 hours in length, depending upon your reason for completing the course. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
Not for the basic insurance discount course; you’re free to complete that as you like. For the 3-year refresher course, you’ll need to complete that within 90 days of your discount expiration to receive an additional 5% discount, making your total discount 15%. If you don’t renew within 90 days, you will lose your existing 10% discount, but you will receive a 15% discount if you retake the course anytime within 2 years of your expiration.
We’ll send your certificate of completion to you for free via U.S. Mail. If you need it sooner than that, we have additional options for expedited shipping.