Frequently Asked Questions for Defensive Driving in Alabama
- Is this course approved?
- I'm not sure if I'm eligible to take an Alabama defensive driving course. How do I find out?
- How long will this course take?
- What types of things will I study?
- Do I have to take a final exam?
- What is the testing and grading policy?
- Is there any way I can fail the course?
- Is there a time limit to complete this course?
- What certificate delivery options do I have?
Yes! Your Alabama defensive driving course is court-approved throughout the state to satisfy requirements for ticket dismissal. Currently it is approved by the following Alabama courts:
- Covington County
- Covington County District Court
- Lockhart Municipal Court
- Dale County
- Daleville Municipal Court
- Napier Field Municipal Court
- Ozark Municipal Court
For all other counties, contact your local district court for more information on approved courses.
Ticket dismissal is granted on a case-by-case basis in Alabama, and requirements will differ from court to court. Generally, you will be eligible if:
- You possess a valid, non-commercial Alabama drivers license
- Your violation is a non-criminal minor moving violation
- Your license has not been suspended or revoked
Check with your specific court before enrolling in our course. We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for the Alabama defensive driving course listed on our How It Works page.
Your Alabama defensive driving course is not timed, though generally, students take roughly 6 hours to complete the course. Your course material is broken down into 8 single-subject units, which you can complete at your own pace. Therefore, how long the course takes is up to you!
Each of your 8 course chapters focuses on single topics that pertain to Alabama driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
- Highway safety
- Alcohol- and drug-impaired driving
- State traffic laws
- Driving emergencies
- Vehicle maintenance
Yes. The final exam is 20 multiple-choice questions, and you will need to achieve a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam as many times as you need to pass.
Each of the 8 chapters contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz; you need to obtain an 80% or higher to pass onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material and prepare for your final exam. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times.
You will then take your final exam at the end of your course, with 20 multiple-choice questions and a passing score of 80% or higher. You may retake the exam if you do not pass on your first try. You are allowed unlimited attempts.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes and final exam, so if you fail to achieve a passing score on your first try, you may simply retake the chapter again until you do.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Alabama courts. While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the court may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine their deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court deadlines, you must complete the course within 180 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.
If you complete the course, we will process your info on the same day. We then email your completion certificate.