Teen girl taking her drivers ed test in Texas
Texas TEA-Approved Drivers Ed

The Standard 32-Hour Course for Teens 14-17

  • Approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA)
  • Best online drivers education money can buy
  • Block or concurrent method available
  • Easy and convenient for your schedule
  • Self-paced course with instructor interactions
Course Details

Getting Your Learners Permit & Drivers License in Texas

Few things in life are more exciting for teenagers than earning their drivers license and finally being able to drive independently. It’s a milestone, and it brings with it a lot of freedom. However, before you can jump in the drivers seat by yourself, you’ll need to follow a few steps.

The state of Texas actually offers two methods of completing your driver training: you can use the Block method or the Concurrent method. With the Block method, you complete the entire 32-hour course before starting your behind-the-wheel training; with the Concurrent method, you can get your learner’s license and start behind-the-wheel training after completing the first two chapters of our course. Don’t worry, we’ve outlined the steps for both so that you know exactly what you need to do, no matter which option you decide to go with.

If you have any questions about how to complete your course, please feel free to contact customer service at 1-800-990-2814.

Method 1:

Complete Your Texas Drivers Ed Training with the Block Method

Step 1:  Sign Up for Your Texas TEA Drivers Ed Online Course

It couldn’t be easier! Simply register online for your Texas teen drivers education course and get started right away.

Step 2:  Complete Online Drivers Ed Course

After you successfully complete your course, a Texas Driver Education certificate (DE-964) will be mailed to either your parent/guardian, or the driving school you are transferring to.

Step 3:  DPS Office – Permit Exam

Go to your local DPS office to take your permit exam and vision test, and receive your learners license!

Note that you must be 15 years old to apply for your learners license. 
You will need to bring the following documents with you when applying for your drivers permit:

  • Your Texas Driver Education certificate (DE-964)
  • An original state-issued birth certificate
  • Your original Social Security card
  • Affidavit of Texas residency (form DL-5)
  • Application for Texas drivers license (DL-14A) 
    -  This must be signed by your parent
  • Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form (or your diploma/GED)
  • 2 utility bills in your parent’s names
    -  The address on these bills must match the address on your DL-14A application.
  • $16 application fee

State law dictates that you will have 3 opportunities within 90 days to successfully pass your drivers permit exam and vision test.

Step 4:  Behind-the-Wheel Instruction

You will need to complete behind-the-wheel training through a licensed driving school in your area.

Keep in mind that you must log:

  • 7 hours of in-car observation
  • 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and
  • 30 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel practice (10 of which must be at night) with a licensed adult who is 21 years of age or older.

Step 5: Complete your Impact Texas Teen Driving (ITTD) Course

As of April 1, 2015, Texans age 16-24 looking to earn their drivers license must also complete a new course from the Texas DPS before taking their road test. Called the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) Program, this free online streaming video course spans 2 hours and is broken into 8 modules that you can view on your own time. Take your time and watch it at your leisure, or power through it and complete the course in one short spurt.

Step 6: Pass Your Driving Exam at the DPS and Get Your Drivers License!

You must hold your learners license for a minimum of 6 months and be at least 16 years old before you can take your driving exam and get your first-time drivers license. When you’re ready, make sure to bring the following documents with you to the DPS:

  • Your learners license
  • Your I Drive Safely course completion certificate
    -  Once you complete the course, you will receive a certification of completion. This certificate must be signed by your I Drive Safely-licensed instructor.
  • Your ITTD certificate of completion
  • Proof of identity, Social Security number, U.S. citizenship/lawful presence status, and Texas residency
  • Verification of enrollment and attendance (VOE) form (or your diploma/GED)
  • Your vehicle’s proof of registration and insurance
  • $16 provisional license fee

You will need to complete an application for a drivers license and pass a driving skills exam. After you have passed your driving skills exam, you will be issued your provisional drivers license!

Method 2:

The Concurrent Method 

Step 1:  Sign Up for Your TEA Drivers Education Online Course

It couldn’t be easier! Simply register online for your Texas teen drivers education course and get started right away.

Step 2:  Begin Online Drivers Education Course

Once you complete Chapters 1 and 2  of your course, you will receive a Texas Driver Education certificate (DE-964) via mail. Once you receive this certificate, you can move on to Step 3!

Step 3:  Permit Test – DPS Office

Go to your local DPS office to take your permit exam and vision test, and receive your learners license!

Note that you must be 15 years old to apply for your learners license.
You will need to bring the following documents with you when applying for your drivers permit:

  • Your Texas Driver Education certificate (DE-964) (6-hour Form)
  • An original state-issued birth certificate
  • Your original Social Security card
  • Affidavit of Texas residency (form DL-5)
  • Application for Texas drivers license (DL-14A)
    -  This must be signed by your parent.
  • 2 utility bills in your parent’s names
    -  The address on these bills must match the address on your DL-14A application.
  • Verification of enrollment and attendance (VOE) form (or diploma/GED)
  • $16 application fee

State law dictates that you will have 3 opportunities within 90 days to successfully pass your drivers permit exam and vision test.

Step 4:  Behind-the-Wheel

This will be done through a licensed driving school in your area that has (what TEA calls) a “tandem association” with I Drive Safely. We can help pair you with a local driving school if you do not have one in mind.

You will need:

  • 7 hours of in-car observation
  • 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and
  • 30 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel practice (10 of which must be at night) with a licensed adult who is 21 years of age or older.

Step 5:  Complete Your Drivers Education Course

You must complete the remaining 26 hours of your drivers ed course in order to move forward toward your Texas drivers license. After you’ve successfully completed your course, we’ll send a certificate of completion to your parent/guardian or transfer school, via the delivery option you choose.

Step 6: Complete your Impact Texas Teen Driving (ITTD) Course

As of April 1, 2015, Texans age 16-24 looking to earn their drivers license must also complete a new course from the Texas DPS before taking their road test. Called the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) Program, this free online streaming video course spans 2 hours and is broken into 8 modules that you can view on your own time. Take your time and watch it at your leisure, or power through it and complete the course in one short spurt.

Step 7:  Get Your Drivers License

You must hold your learners license for a minimum of 6 months and be at least 16 years old before you can take your driving exam and get your first-time driver’s license. When you’re ready, make sure to bring the following documents with you to the DPS:

  • Your learners license
  • Your I Drive Safely course completion certificate
    -  This must be signed by your I Drive Safely instructor of record, the driving school director, and your parent or guardian.
  • Your ITTD certificate of completion
  • Proof of identity, Social Security number, U.S. citizenship/lawful presence status, and Texas residency
  • Verification of enrollment and attendance (VOE) form (or diploma/GED)
  • Your vehicle’s proof of registration and insurance
  • $16 provisional license fee

You will need to complete an application for a drivers license and pass a driving skills exam. After you have passed your driving skills exam, you will be issued your provisional drivers license!