Permit Test Florida Online
Why stand in line at the DHSMV just to take your Florida permit test in a crowded room, full of noise and distractions?
If you're under the age of 18, you can take the permit test online! We offer the official Florida permit test. Our online Florida permit test includes the same 50 questions you would be asked at the DHSMV - except you can take it from the comfort of your home.
And if you don't pass it on your first try, don't worry: you can retake the Florida driver's permit test!
What about taking the Florida permit test online for those over 18? Unfortunately, if you're 18+, the DHSMV requires you take the permit exam in-person.
See here for a complete list of Florida DMV locations.
Need to Take Your Florida TLSAE Course?
We've got you covered! First time drivers of all ages in Florida are required to take the online Drug and Alcohol Test. If you haven't taken your 4-hour Florida Drug and Alcohol Course yet, we can help. We offer a TLSAE Course - Florida Permit Test Combo package that lets you take care of all of your Florida DMV learners permit needs from the comfort of home.
Your Online Course Gives You:
- Flexibility – study when and where you want
- Fun lessons for an easy study experience
- Unlimited attempts on your final exam
- A stress-free way to get your permit!
And since your online Florida permit test course is only 4 hours long, you can start and finish it all in the same day! It's fast, it's easy, it's fun...and it's all done right from home.
It’s Florida DHSMV-Approved!
This course is 100% approved by the Florida DHSMV and teaches you all of the state-certified information you need to know in order to pass your Florida permit test and ultimately receive your Florida drivers license.
What You'll Learn
The 4-hour drug and alcohol course covers all the driving fundamentals to ensure that you become a safe, responsible driver. Topics in the course include:
- Florida traffic law and road regulations
- Traffic signs and signals
- Proper vehicle maintenance
- Defensive driving and hazard prevention skills
- Night and highway driving
- Dangers and consequences of drugs and alcohol
Videos, Animations, and More
This isn't just some boring textbook to read through. Your Florida 4-Hour Drug and Alcohol course consists of 7 exciting multimedia chapters, each geared toward one specific topic for easy concentration. You'll learn through the latest advancements in teaching technology, designed by experts in the field.
You'll also have the opportunity to take 10-question multiple-choice quizzes at the end of each chapter to help you review the lessons you've learned, and prepare you for your final exam. But don't worry, because your multiple-choice final exam gives you unlimited retakes. You're guaranteed to pass!
How Does the Online Florida Permit Test Work?
In order to take the DHSMV Florida permit test online, you will need to supply your full name, birth date, and Social Security number.
The Florida learners permit test consists of 50 questions, and you must answer at least 40 correctly in order to pass. Please note that you will have 60 minutes to complete the test. If you don't pass on your first try, a $24.95 fee will be applied for each additional attempt. You get 3 attempts to pass the Florida DMV permit test online. If you fail 3 times, you will need to retest in person at the DHSMV - so make sure you go back and review all of your course quizzes! That way, you'll have no problem passing the Florida driving permit test on your very first try.
Wondering if you'll need all 3? If so, you can take a Free practice test from the FLHSMV by going HERE.
After Your Course - Getting Your Florida Permit
Once you have completed your drug and alcohol Florida permit test online, the next steps are simple!
- Head to the DHSMV with your parent/guardian
- Bring the required identification documents with you
- Have your parent/guardian sign an affidavit that confirms that you completed your permit test online in Florida
- Take the vision and hearing exams
- Get your permit!
Easy Certificate Delivery
Your drug and alcohol course and Florida permit test results are reported directly to the DHSMV, so you don't have to worry about a thing! But it's always smart to keep a copy of your course completion for your own records. That's why we offer a proof of completion that you can download right to your computer!
A Choice Every Parent Can Trust
Your child's safety and education are important to us, which is why we've put every effort and resource into ensuring they have everything they need to become the responsible driver you want them to be. We have over 20 years' experience in the business, and have helped teens across the nation earn their permits and enjoy their newfound freedom safely.
With our innovative instruction platform, we have the ability to work with your teen's specific learning style, and cater to their individual needs. Our method is effective and has been developed by professional educators for maximum efficiency. We are the industry leader, so don't worry - your child is in good hands!
Still Have Questions?
We have a team of customer support representatives who are here to help you with any questions or issues you may have. They are available 7 days a week, so there's always someone there to assist you!
What Are the Permit Restrictions?
With a learners license, you are only allowed to drive in the daylight, until 3 months have passed. At this point, you may drive until 10 p.m. However, you'll need to be accompanied at all times by an individual who holds a valid drivers license and is over the age of 21.
Next Up: The Florida Operators License
You did it! You're one step closer to your full license. In order to move on to this stage, however, you'll need to hold your learners license for a year (12 months), if you're a minor. During this year, you are required to:
- Get 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice (10 of these must occur at night)
- Get a form signed by your parent/guardian that verifies your completion of these hours.
Although Florida does not require you to take a driver training course, successful completion will allow you to bypass the driving test you would normally have to take to get your operator's license.
Once you've finished these steps, you can apply for your operators license! To apply, you must:
- Be between 16 and 17 years of age
- Have no traffic convictions on record
- Submit your driving hour certification form
- Take a driving test (unless you have proof of driver training course completion)
Taking the Florida Driving Skills Test
If you do have to take the Florida driving skills test you can make an appointment with your local DHSMV office through the OASIS website. You’ll also have to supply your own vehicle that’s safe, registered and insured.
What to Expect During Your Florida Driving Test
Most of the Florida driving skills test takes place on the streets in actual traffic. Your driving examiner will ride along with you making sure that you’re in complete control of the vehicle and follow all the laws. It’s highly likely that your examiner will be taking notes. Don’t let this worry you, it's normal!
The Florida driving skills test covers all of the essentials, including:
- Safe lane changes and passing
- Yielding the right-of-way
- Parking: straight, parallel, on grade
- Stopping quickly
- Making proper turns including a U-turn and a
- 3-point turn within 20-40 feet
- Backing up
- Obeying speed laws, road signs and traffic signals
- Proper use of turn signals and mirrors
- Following at a safe distance
- Safely approaching a crossing
At the end the examiner will let you know the results and explain any mistakes you might have made during the test. If you pass you can hand over your learners permit and get a Florida drivers license!
What Are the Florida Operators License Restrictions?
- As a 16-year-old with an operators license, you may drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. If you are going to work, or are accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed driver, you may drive outside of these times.
- If you are 17 and have your operators license, you may drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. The same conditions apply for 17-year-olds when it comes to driving outside of these hours.
And Finally: The Full License
All you have to do to get your full teenage drivers license in Florida is wait until you turn 18, and apply for it! You don't have to take any other tests. If you're 18 years of age and have never had a drivers license, you can apply for a full license; you'll just need to submit proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
The best part is that the full license doesn't have any restrictions! Enjoy your freedom!