Auto Insurance in Texas
Like other states, Texas requires that every driver carry a certain about of liability insurance to cover any potential damages they may cause to other cars, property, and people. This protects the other drivers on Texas’ roads, as even the best driver in the world can still make mistakes. If you want to drive, it is important that you learn the minimum auto insurance requirements in Texas.
Minimum Texas Car Insurance Policies
When you pick an auto insurance policy, you have to understand what is being covered. Property damage is any harmful impact your car makes on another car or public/private property as a result of a mistake you make while driving. This can range from very mild, such as a “fender bender,” to very severe, such as full head-on collision. Bodily injury refers to physically harming another person (either the driver of another car or a pedestrian) to the point of requiring medical treatment. Under Texas law, you will be liable for their medical bills.
- You must have at least $30,000 coverage to pay for each injured person in an accident.
- You must have at least $60,000 coverage to pay for each accident which results in bodily injuries.
- You must have at least $25,000 coverage to pay for property damage per accident.
When to Show Proof of Insurance in Texas
When you sign up for an auto insurance policy, your insurer will send you a proof of financial responsibility card that you will need to keep with you when you drive to show a police officer if it is ever asked of you, or if you are ever in an accident. You will also need to present at the DPS if you renew or register your car or driver’s license. If you fail to show proof of insurance during a required time, you could face fines of up to $1,000 or even suspension of your license for repeat offenses.
Additional Types of Auto Insurance
In many cases, the minimum legal insurance policy will not be enough to cover all the damages or injuries incurred in an accident. It is possible you may end up getting sued for the remaining amount. It is generally a good idea to get extra coverage to prevent this from happening. Comprehensive coverage can protect you against damage done to your vehicle during situations other than car accidents, which are surprisingly common. Uninsured and underinsured coverage will pay for your damages if you are ever hit by an uninsured driver. With accidents and collisions begin so common, it is worth considering getting as much car insurance as you can afford.
For more information on Texas auto insurance requirements, visit the Department of Insurance state website.