idrivesafely.com, School # - C1635
|I Drive Safely » Texas » Faqs » Texas Defensive Driving – FAQs|
Yes! The Streaming Video, Text-Based, Insurance Discount, and Seat Belt courses have all been approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) to satisfy state requirements for ticket dismissal and insurance reductions.
There are many reasons why drivers take our Texas Driver Safety Course. Some of these include:
We have all of the eligibility requirements and steps to take for Texas Defensive Driving listed on our How It Works page. Generally, you are eligible in the state of Texas if you:
If you still are unclear as to whether you qualify for traffic school, contact your court and request more information concerning your particular circumstances.
You may take a defensive driving course to dismiss a ticket in Texas once every 12 months. You must make sure you request permission from the court to do so by the appearance date on your ticket.
Your course is required by the state to meet a 6-hour length requirement. But remember – you can work through those 6 hours at whatever pace you choose, and you do not have to complete it all in one day (you can if you want to, of course!).
Each of your chapters focuses on a single topic that pertains to Texas driving and traffic laws. These topics include:
No! Once you finish the last chapter quiz, you are finished with your course, and do not have to take a final exam.
Each chapter contains a quiz that reviews important content from that chapter. There are 10 questions per quiz, and you must score a 70% or higher to move onto the next chapter. The quizzes will provide you with an excellent opportunity to master the course material. You will be provided with feedback on any incorrect answers, and you may retake your quizzes an unlimited amount of times. If you fail a quiz, you will be asked to retake the chapter's lesson material before attempting the quiz again.
There is no final exam for your Texas Defensive Driving course.
Absolutely not! You have unlimited retakes on your chapter quizzes, so if you fail to achieve a 70% on your first try, you may simply retake the chapter again until you pass.
This course is required by Texas law to span 6 hours in length. To comply with this law, we (and all other online defensive driving schools) are required to place timers on each page of the course. We realize that some students may read faster than the timer will permit you to advance, but state regulations prohibit us from changing this function. The timers cannot be disabled for any reason.
Deadlines are typically determined by the Texas courts. While we allow you 180 days to complete your course before your account is suspended, the court may require you to finish your course much sooner than that. Make sure to determine your court's deadline before beginning the course.
Regardless of court deadlines, you MUST complete the course within 180 days of registration. Any student who has not successfully completed the course within 180 days will be terminated without notice and will not be eligible for a refund.
Your ticket and points will be added to your driving record, and will be reported to your insurance company.
Yes, however, keep in mind that this course will take at least 6 hours to complete. You will also need to have your certificate mailed to you via overnight mail
Yes! You can take this course on your iPad or iPhone, making it the most convenient online course available. As long as you have a good connection to the Internet through your device then you are good to go!
Keep in mind, with its larger screen, the iPad offers a more enjoyable course experience with much less scrolling than on an iPhone.
Yes, our Texas Streaming Video course is fully compatible on Android devices.
Our text-based course is also compatible, but keep in mind you may need to install a Flash plug-in to view all the videos.
If your court grants you permission, you can take a defensive driving course to reduce points on your driving record. If this is the case, you typically have 90 days to successfully complete the course.
After you complete your Texas Insurance Discount course, simply take your Certificate of Completion to your insurance company. They will process your course completion and apply your predetermined discount to your premium!
Please visit "Certificate Delivery" Page.
Typically, the answer is yes. You will need to contact the court listed on your citation and request permission to do so. Upon completion of your course, you will need to send in your certificate to that court for processing. They may also require a copy of your home state driving record.