|I Drive Safely » Oklahoma » Sitemap » Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties in Oklahoma|
Oklahoma Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
|Share this post:|
There are plenty of ways to get Oklahoma traffic tickets. However, the fines you pay for your traffic violation depend on what you were cited for, your court, and the area where you received the ticket. And there are plenty of punishments other than Oklahoma speeding fines. Fines are accompanied by penalty assessment fees if your traffic ticket fine is higher than $10. Some examples of these types of fees include:
- Automated Fingerprint Identification System - $5
- Forensic Fees - $5
When you are convicted of a traffic violation, you will face penalties, too. The loss of driving privileges is a common penalty. This could be in the form of either driver's license suspension or revocation. While a suspended Oklahoma license is temporary (and your license can be reinstated after meeting set requirements), revocation means your license is terminated—you will need to apply for a new driver's license in order to drive again.
Your driver's license can be revoked for anywhere from 6 months to 3 years if you are convicted of any of the following:
- Any type of drug conviction while using a motor vehicle
In addition, points are added to your driving record whenever you get a traffic ticket, whether you're faced with Oklahoma speeding fines or are convicted of running a red light. The Oklahoma point system dictates that the more severe the offense, the more points are tacked on to your record. Accumulating 10 or more points within a 5-year period will lead to driver's license suspension. However, completion of an Oklahoma court-approved online defensive driving course can earn you a 2-point reduction, so find out if you are eligible for one of these courses.
Oklahoma DUI laws are strict, and they include a "Zero Tolerance" policy for individuals under the age of 21 driving with alcohol in their system. Your driver's license will be revoked if you are convicted of driving with any alcohol in your bloodstream, and you may have to:
- Pay fines up to $500
- Perform community service
- Successfully complete a treatment program
The penalties for minors (drivers under the age of 18) are the same, except that your license or permit will be terminated if you are convicted of any violation that involves alcohol or drugs. Dropping out/withdrawal from school will also lead to loss of driving privileges.
Traffic violations are all the more serious if you're a commercial driver. On top of Oklahoma traffic ticket fines, your commercial driver's license (CDL) can be disqualified or you may lose your driving privileges altogether for certain offenses. Your CDL will be disqualified for 6 months (180 days) to 1 year if you are convicted of any of the following:
- Violating a driver/vehicle out-of-service order during the transport of materials that are nonhazardous
- Violating one of these out-of-service orders during the transport of hazardous materials that are required to be placarded, or while operating a vehicle that is designed to carry 16 or more passengers
Serious offenses that will lead to harsh penalties include:
- Improper lane changes
- Following a vehicle too closely
- Reckless driving
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without having your CDL with you
"Major" offenses are even worse, and will cause you to lose your commercial driver's license for 1 year if convicted. Major offenses could be:
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 or higher
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Operating a commercial vehicle with a /suspended/revoked/canceled CDL
As you can see, Oklahoma traffic tickets and fines extend well beyond simple Oklahoma speeding fines. Traffic violations of any kind are dangerous to both you and other drivers, so avoid breaking the rules and not only will you stay ticket-free, you'll keep the roads safer, too.
|Share this post:|