|I Drive Safely » Michigan » Sitemap » Michigan Traffic Tickets Fines and Penalties|
Michigan Speeding and Traffic Tickets Fines and Penalties
No one ever plans to be pulled over, but unfortunately, mistakes happen. If you were issued a traffic ticket recently, you're probably wondering how much it will cost. Michigan traffic ticket fines and penalties can be confusing. We've outlines some of the basics to help you understand what you'll need to pay and what consequences you could face.
The fine associated with your Michigan traffic ticket will be determined by the district where you committed your violation. Typically, the fee will be listed on the ticket you received and the fee will vary depending on where you were pulled over. Michigan speeding tickets, for example, might cost you a different amount in Detroit than in Grosse Pointe. If you have misplaced your ticket or you have other questions about your fines, you should contact your district court immediately. You don't want to miss a court deadline, as you could face additional fines and penalties.
While the fines may vary, here is a standard list of costs you might face if you're pulled over:
- Speeding 1-5 MPH over limit: $90
- Speeding 26+ MPH over limit: $155 + $4 per additional mile
- Failure to signal: $95
- Failure to stop for school bus: $180
- Improper U-turn: $100
The Michigan points system is designed to identify poor driving habits. Point values are associated with every traffic ticket, and they go up in value as the severity of the crime increases. For example, if you get a speeding ticket for driving 1-5 MPH over the limit, it's a 2-point violation, while speeding 26+ MPH over the limit holds a 4-point value.
Once you're convicted of a moving violation, those points will remain on your driving record for 2 years from the date of the conviction. Fortunately, points from certain Michigan moving violations can be removed from your record by completing a basic driver improvement course (BDIC). Michigan drivers are allowed to take this course once in their lifetime.
Your driving record is an easy way for an auto insurance company to assess your driving abilities. If you start accumulating traffic ticket after traffic ticket, and the associated points are added to your driving record, your Michigan auto insurance rates are sure to go up. In extreme cases, an insurance provider might drop you from their coverage if they see you as a high risk to insure. Auto insurance is a legal requirement in Michigan, so keeping points off your driving record is a good idea.
Your driving privileges can be restricted, suspended, or revoked by the Michigan Secretary of State. There are two ways to lose your driving privileges in Michigan: by accumulating too many traffic ticket points, or by committing a serious crime. Below are a few of the serious violations that could cause your license to be suspended or revoked:
- Drunk driving
- Evading an officer
- Driving without insurance
Join more than 5 million satisfied customers!