|I Drive Safely » Alabama » Sitemap » Suspended Driver's License in Alabama|
Alabama Suspended License
You can get a suspended license in Alabama for a number of reasons:
- You've accumulated too many points on your driving record within a specific amount of time
- You are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI)
- You drive while your license is suspended, or you drive when you don't have your license with you
- You drive without proper insurance, or you fail to provide proof of your insurance
- You are convicted of reckless driving
- You are found to be at fault in a fatal accident
- You abandon your car on a public highway
License suspension means that in addition to Alabama traffic ticket fines, you will be unable to drive for a specific period of time. The length of the suspension depends on the reason your driving privileges were taken away in the first place.
The Alabama point system is in place to track how well you are driving. Each ticket comes with a set number of points according to the severity of the violation. The number of points you accrue within a given period of time will determine the length of your suspension period. The standard suspension periods in the state are:
- 12-14 points within 2 years: 60-day suspension
- 15-17 points within 2 years: 90-day suspension
- 18-20 points within 2 years: 120-day suspension
- 21-23 points within 2 years: 180 days
- 24 or more points within 2 years: 365-day suspension
License suspension is serious, which is why it's important to follow the rules. If you have a suspended license in Alabama, keep the following in mind:
- If your license hasn't already been taken away in court, it is your responsibility to surrender it to the Alabama Motor Vehicles Division. You can either surrender it in person at a Driver License Office or through the mail.
- You are not allowed to drive while your license is suspended. If you are caught doing so, your suspension may be increased, or you could be imprisoned for up to 5 years.
- Once your suspension is over, you will receive a written notice in the mail with instructions on restoring your license. You may not drive until you have followed the proper procedure and received a valid replacement license.
The Alabama Motor Vehicle Division will send you a Notice of Restoration once your suspension period is complete. This notice will have instructions on how to get your license reinstated. The procedure is typically as follows:
- Pay the restoration fee. It is usually $100, but may be higher depending on what you were cited for
- Revoked license: $175
- Alcohol/drug-related offenses: $275
- Failure to pay child support/failure to surrender license within 30 days: $50
- Apply for a license renewal
After your license is renewed, you will be on a 1-year mandatory probation period. Any other violations during this time may result in another suspension of your license.
Preventing license suspension will save you both time and money. Dealing with a suspended driver's license is a major hassle—apart from all the penalties, you have to worry about finding an alternative form of transportation. To help avoid getting your license suspended in the future, you should:
- Never mix drinking and driving: Not only do you risk consequences like license suspension for breaking Alabama DUI laws, but you're also a danger to yourself and others when you get behind the wheel after drinking.
- Be a safe driver: By driving safely, you'll prevent yourself from getting traffic tickets, which will mean fewer points on your driving record, and less chance of a suspension.